President - articles - Embassy of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan Beijing

Pakistan Study Centers

Confucius Institute in Pakistan

Advisory for Students

Embassy College

Embassy of Pakistan Newsletter


The president of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

President Asif Ali Zardari is the 14th President of Pakistan. He took the oath of the office on 10 March 2024. Previously, he served as the 11th President of Pakistan from 2008 to 2013.

Born to a Baloch family from Sindh province on 26 July 1955, Mr. Asif Ali Zardari belongs to a political family.  His political career spans over a quarter of a century. He is the President of Pakistan People’s Party Parliamentarians and Co-chairperson of Pakistan People’s Party. He served as a Member of the National Assembly from 1990-1993 and 1993-1996, as Federal Minister for Environment 1993-1996, and as Federal Minister for Investment 1995-1996. He served as Senator from 1997 to 1999. 

During his term as the 11th President, Mr. Zardari led the move to strengthen parliamentary democracy in Pakistan with the 18th Constitutional Amendment. The 18th Constitutional Amendment empowered the Parliament of Pakistan; gave greater autonomy to the provinces; and streamlined the process of appointment of superior judiciary. 

With the 18th Constitutional Amendment, the President became a ceremonial head of state. Mr. Zardari thus voluntarily transferred key constitutional powers of the President to the elected parliament. 

Mr. Zardari was married to Ms. Benazir Bhutto in 1987 who, a year later, became the Muslim World's first woman Prime Minister in 1988 and went on to serve as Prime Minister for two terms: (1988 -1990) and (1993-1996). Ms. Bhutto was assassinated in an attack in Rawalpindi on 27 December 2007.

He has three children, Bilawal, Bakhtawar, and Aseefa. 

    Contact Information

  • Chancery Address:
    No.1,Dongzhimenwai Dajie, Sanlitun, Chaoyang District, People’s Republic of China, Beijing Post Code 100600.
    Guide Map
  • * Emergency Mobile Helpline:
    Second Secretary: Dr. Awais Zafar
    +86 18519206755
  • * Exchange:
    +86(10)65322504 and +86(10)65326660

    * Fax:
    +86(10)65322715 and +86(10)65323233

    * Email:
  • * Visa Section:
    +86(10)65322558 (Direct)
    +86(10)65326660-6144 and 6145 (extension)

    * Email:
  • * Commercial/Trade Matters:
    +86(10) 65322581 (Direct)
    +86(10)65326660-6024, 6011 and 6056 (extension)

    * Email:
  • * Education Wing:
    +86(10)65326301 (Direct)
    +86(10)65326660-6043 and 6108(extension)

    * Email:
  • * Community Welfare Affairs Wing:
    +86(10)65322254 (Direct)

    * Email: (Community matters)
  • * Attestations wing:

    * Email:
  • * Passport (MRP)Section:
    +86(10)65326660-6048 (extension)

    * Email:
  • * Suggestions/Complaints:
  • * Visiting Hours:
    09:00-11:30 Hours
    (Monday to Friday)
  • * Submission of Documents:
    (including MRP)
    09:00-11:30 Hours
  • * Return of Documents:
    15:00-16:30 Hours
    (Monday to Friday),
    or as indicated on deposit Slip

    Follow Us On

Photo Gallery

Video Gallery